top of page

YOUR MAIN QUESTIONS

(and our answers)

We spoke with many couples, who, like us (and you), asked themselves the same questions when starting the adventure (and after).

We have decided to group them together to help you see more clearly.

Before birth 

> How to choose your agency?

Beyond the financial considerations (because the rates are similar in the main Canadian agencies) the choice of the agency is a question of philosophy and feeling. Basically the choice comes down to this  : a large agency (with well-established processes and volume-related experience) or a smaller agency, with more personalized service and generally faster deadlines (but with a more "artisanal" operation). We have chosen a smaller agency, on a more human scale (Proud Fertility) and we do not regret it

 

Consult the list of the main agencies HERE

 

> How to choose the right clinic  ?

Of course, you have to take into account prices, reputation and even the experience of working with international couples. But there are other considerations, such as geography. It may indeed be a good idea to choose a clinic based on the location of the donor and the carrier. Some donors or carriers may be reluctant to cross Canada from west to east to get to the clinic. And that can also have an impact on the cost (because it is the intended parents - or intentioned parents - who pay the travel costs). There is no rule or systematism, but it's a tip to keep in mind  !

 

Be careful, also ask the clinics what their sperm conservation policy is. Some clinics apply a "  sperm quarantine  »3 months or 6 months (to avoid the risk of infection). That is, they keep the sperm in quarantine and they wait  this delay before fertilizing with oocytes to make embryos. This is an information to take into account because it can delay the whole process, depending on when the donation is made.  !

 

More details on how we selected our clinic by clicking here

 

> What is the waiting time to find a surrogate mother  ?

It depends on several factors, such as the time of year, whether you already have embryos, your selection criteria, and of course your agency. The deadlines are different according to the agencies because they have more or less surrogate mothers available.

In our case, we waited three months to "match" (this was the third profile that our agency offered us - we had not chosen the first,  and the second  chose another couple).

 

> What is the average time for the entire route  ?

This is a question we are often asked  ! That  may vary, we spoke to couples who took 11 months for the fastest  ! And that can go up to more than three years.

The average is around a year and a half  !

In our case, it took two years between the time we started researching the subject in Canada and the birth of our son :)

 

> Should you take out insurance  health for the unborn baby?

The question must arise in a country where the costs of hospitalization of a newborn baby can sometimes be billed to parents when they do not benefit from Canadian health insurance (which is the case for foreigners). These fees are not necessarily invoiced but they can go up to 10  000 Canadian dollars / day and there are examples of parents who have had to face exorbitant costs, in particular in the event of premature birth (increased risk in the event of twin pregnancy).

One of the only companies to  offering insurance is Allianz Worldwide Care.

> How many trips there  ?

At least two  : one for the sperm donation, the other for the birth. No other obligatory trip, it is according to the possibilities according to the people. In our case, we were lucky enough to be able to return there at the time of the 20-week ultrasound (with discovery of the sex of the baby  !)

 

> What is the legal process  ?

You're going to need a lawyer, maybe two. You must first establish a contract with the donor, then a contract with the surrogate mother. Then at the time of birth, the legal procedures must be carried out by a lawyer from the province of birth (who can therefore be the same lawyer ... or not  !).

We worked with Sean Zaboroski for contracts (he is with Canadian Fertility Lawyers in Toronto) and Ellen Embury for post-birth procedures (she is with Dunphy Best Blocksom LLP in Calgary).

> How much does it cost  ?

The agencies estimate the total adventure between 70,000  and 100,000  euros. It is on average a third less than in the United States, which can be a shocking argument. Costs vary depending on  costs reimbursed to the donor and the carrier, the choice of clinic, the success - or not - of the first insemination and of course the course  pregnancy (because the costs associated with a surrogate mother's stay / bed rest are of course higher than during a pregnancy without any particular event).

As far as we are concerned, the Canadian adventure cost us 74  000 euros (without travel on site) when we had budgeted 90  000 euros.

 

 

> How to transfer money  in Canada ?

The most obvious solution is to use your bank. This is what we did at the beginning but the costs are significant and we were faced with a transfer blocking (because one of the headings mentioned the word "  surrogacy  Which means surrogacy and which is illegal in France.)

Since then, we have been using Transferwise, a very easy-to-use money transfer site with very low costs and very honest exchange rates.

Use our referral code to register, it saves you the fees on your first transfer, and in complete transparency, it also allows us to earn a little, so everyone is happy  😉!  

 

Transferwise referral code (copy and paste into your browser): https://transferwise.com/invite/is/sebastient34 

If you are already registered, you can still benefit from a free transfer by entering this link in your account (from a computer) 

After birth 

> Who to write on the Canadian birth certificate  ?

One father or two fathers  ? It all depends on the province in which your surrogate is located. For example, some provinces do not allow two fathers to appear on the birth certificate (even though surrogacy is completely legal).

In the majority of provinces, however, it is possible, and there is nothing blocking the return to France to register two fathers. In the current state of French law, it is indeed possible to request a partial transcription of the Canadian birth certificate from the French embassy or consulate in Canada. The state therefore issues you a French birth certificate with the name of only one father (even if there are two on the Canadian birth certificate), which we have done. The procedure for recognizing a foreign judgment also seems to work, so there is no blocking the registration of both parents.

 

 

> How long on site after birth  ?

It all depends on the province and the current legal process, but on average, you have to stay three weeks, while the birth certificate is established so that you can then apply for and obtain your baby's Canadian passport (he will have the Canadian nationality because born on Canadian soil).

 

> What is the first step to take  when you return to France  ?

From an administrative point of view, we have been making an acknowledgment of paternity at the town hall (well, only one of us of course). This was very helpful to us when requesting a partial transcription from the French consulate in Canada and for other procedures.

To protect the second dad who is not yet officially recognized in France while awaiting adoption by spouse, we have signed a will  before a notary who designates our son as the universal legatee and the second father as legal guardian (who therefore protects his rights if the father recognized in France were to disappear ...).

 

> How to obtain French papers  for your child?

As soon as one of the two parents is French, their child must obtain French nationality. We obtained that of our son without even having received the transcription of his birth certificate in France (the Canadian birth certificate was sufficient in our case) and without too much difficulty, even if we had to be persistent and follow the folder to make sure it is not blocked. We got our son's identity card and French passport within a month.

 

> How is it going for CAF la Sécu  ?

No difficulty  ! Our son was registered with these two organizations within a few weeks. From memory, there is no proof to send (apart from the Canadian birth certificate). You just have to make sure that CAF does not consider that it is not an adoption (because it is not one).

Receive our newsletter

with the latest info on surrogacy,

legislation, tips and advice from professionals in the sector

Thanks thanks ! See you soon by email! your dispatch !

bottom of page

VOS PRINCIPALES QUESTIONS

(et nos réponses)

Nous avons discuté avec de nombreux couples, qui, comme nous (et vous), se sont posés les mêmes questions au moment de débuter l’aventure (et après).

Nous avons décidé de les regrouper pour vous aider à y voir plus clair.

Avant la naissance 

>Comment choisir son agence?

Au-delà des considérations financières (car les tarifs sont proches dans les principales agences canadiennes) le choix de l'agence est une question de philosophie et de feeling. En gros, le choix se résume à ça : une grosse agence (avec des process bien établis et de l'expérience liée au volume) ou une agence plus petite, avec un service plus personnalisé et des délais généralement plus rapides (mais avec un fonctionnement plus "artisanal"). Nous avons fait le choix d'une agence plus petite, à taille plus humaine (Proud Fertility) et nous ne le regrettons pas

 

Consultez la liste des principales agences ICI

 

>Comment bien choisir sa clinique ?

Il faut bien sûr prendre en compte les tarifs, la réputation ou encore l’expérience de travailler avec des couples internationaux. Mais il y a d’autres considérations, comme par exemple la géographie. Il peut en effet être une bonne idée de choisir sa clinique en fonction du lieu de vie de la donneuse et de la porteuse. Certaines donneuses ou porteuses peuvent être réticentes à l’idée de traverser le Canada d'ouest en est pour se rendre à la clinique. Et cela peut aussi avoir un impact sur le coût (car ce sont les parents d'intention -- ou intented parents -- qui payent les frais de déplacement). Il n’y a pas de règle ou de systématisme, mais c’est une info à avoir en tête !

 

Attention, demandez aussi aux cliniques quelle est leur politique de conservation du sperme. Certaines cliniques appliquent en effet une « sperm quarantine » de 3 mois ou 6 mois (pour éviter les risques d’infection). C’est-à-dire qu'ils conservent le sperme en quarantaine et qu'ils attendent ce délai avant de fertiliser avec des ovocytes pour faire des embryons. C’est une info à prendre en compte car cela peut retarder tout le process, en fonction du moment auquel le don est fait !

 

Plus de détails sur la manière dont nous avons sélectionné notre clinique en cliquant ici

 

>Quel est le temps d’attente pour trouver une mère porteuse ?

Cela dépend de plusieurs facteurs, comme la période de l’année, si vous avez déjà des embryons, vos critères de sélection, et bien sûr votre agence. Les délais sont différents selon les agences car elles ont plus ou moins de mères porteuses disponibles.

Dans notre cas, nous avons attendu trois mois pour "matcher" (c’était le troisième profil que notre agence nous proposait – nous n’avions pas retenu la première, et la deuxième a choisi un autre couple).

 

>Quel est le délai moyen pour l'ensemble du parcours ?

C'est une question qu'on nous pose souvent ! Cela peut varier, nous avons parlé à des couples qui ont mis 11 mois pour le plus rapide ! Et cela peut aller jusqu'à plus de trois ans.

La moyenne se situe autour d’un an et demi !

Dans notre cas, nous avons mis deux ans entre le moment où nous avons commencé à faire des recherches sur le sujet au Canada et la naissance de notre fils :)

 

>Faut-il prendre une assurance santé pour le bébé à naître ?

La question doit se poser dans un pays où les frais d’hospitalisation d’un nouveau-né peuvent parfois être facturés aux parents quand ils ne bénéficient pas de l’assurance maladie canadienne (ce qui est le cas des étrangers). Ces frais ne sont pas obligatoirement facturés mais ils peuvent aller jusqu’à 10 000 dollars canadiens / jour et il y a des exemples de parents qui ont dû faire face à des frais exorbitants, notamment en cas de naissance prématurée (risque accru en cas de grossesse gémellaire).

Une des seules compagnie à proposer une assurance est Allianz Worldwide Care.

>Combien de voyages sur place ?

Au minimum deux : un pour le don de sperme, l’autre pour la naissance. Pas d’autre voyage obligatoire, c’est en fonction des possibilités selon les gens. Dans notre cas, nous avons eu la chance de pouvoir y retourner au moment de l’échographie des 20 semaines (avec découverte du sexe du bébé !)

 

>Quel est le process légal ?

Vous allez avoir besoin d'un avocat, voire deux. Il vous faut en effet d’abord établir un contrat avec la donneuse, puis un contrat avec la mère porteuse. Puis au moment de la naissance, les démarches juridiques doivent être réalisées par un avocat de la province de naissance (qui peut donc être le même avocat… ou pas !).

Nous avons travaillé avec Sean Zaboroski pour les contrats (il fait partie du cabinet Canadian Fertility Lawyers à Toronto) et Ellen Embury pour les démarches après la naissance (elle fait partie du cabinet Dunphy Best Blocksom LLP à Calgary).

>Combien ça coûte ?

Les agences estiment la totalité de l’aventure entre 70 000 et 100 000 euros. C’est en moyenne un tiers de moins qu’aux Etats-Unis, ce qui peut être un argument choc. Les coûts varient en fonction des frais remboursés à la donneuse et la porteuse, le choix de la clinique, la réussite – ou non – de la première insémination et bien sûr le déroulement de la grossesse (car les frais liés à un arrêt/alitement de la mère porteuse sont bien sûr plus importants que lors d’une grossesse sans aucun évènement particulier).

En ce qui nous concerne, l’aventure canadienne nous a coûté 74 000 euros (sans les voyages sur place) alors que nous avions budgété 90 000 euros.

 

 

>Comment virer l’argent au Canada ?

La solution le plus évidente est d’utiliser votre banque. C’est ce que nous avons fait au début mais les frais sont importants et nous avons été confrontés à un blocage de virement (car un des intitulés mentionnait le mot « surrogacy », qui veut dire GPA et qui est illégale en France.)

Depuis, nous utilisons Transferwise, un site de transfert d’argent hyper simple d’utilisation et surtout avec très peu de frais et des taux de change très honnêtes.

Utilisez notre code de parrainage pour vous inscrire, ça vous fait économiser les frais sur votre premier transfert, et en toute transparence, ça nous permet aussi de gagner un peu, donc tout le monde est content 😉 ! 

 

Code parrainage Transferwise (à copier et coller dans votre navigateur): https://transferwise.com/invite/is/sebastient34 

Si vous êtes déjà inscrit, vous pouvez quand même bénéficier d'un transfert gratuit en rentrant ce lien dans votre compte (depuis un ordinateur) 

Après la naissance 

>Qui inscrire sur l’acte de naissance canadien ?

Un père ou deux pères ? Tout dépend de la province dans laquelle votre surrogate se trouve. Par exemple, certaines provinces n’autorisent pas que deux pères apparaissent sur l’acte de naissance (même si la GPA est complètement légale).

Dans la majorité des provinces, c’est toutefois possible, et il n’y a rien de bloquant pour le retour en France à inscrire deux pères. En l’état actuel de la législation française, il est en effet possible de demander une retranscription partielle de l’acte de naissance canadien auprès de l’ambassade française ou du consulat au Canada. L’état vous délivre donc un acte de naissance français avec le nom d’un seul père (même s’il y en a deux sur l’acte de naissance canadien), ce que nous avons fait. La procédure de reconnaissance d'un jugement étranger semble aussi fonctionner, donc pas de blocage à inscrire les deux parents.

 

 

>Combien de temps sur place après la naissance ?

Tout dépend de la province et du process légal en cours, mais en moyenne, il faut rester trois semaines, le temps que l’acte de naissance soit établi pour que vous puissiez ensuite demander et obtenir le passeport canadien de votre bébé (il aura la nationalité canadienne car né sur le sol canadien).

 

>Quel est la première démarche à effectuer à votre retour en France ?

D'un point de vue administratif, nous avons été faire une reconnaissance de paternité à la mairie (enfin, seulement l'un d'entre nous bien sûr). Cela nous a beaucoup servi lors de la demande de transcription partielle auprès du consulat français au Canada et pour les autres démarches.

Pour protéger le deuxième papa qui n'est pas encore reconnu officiellement en France en attendant l'adoption par conjoint, nous avons signé un testament devant notaire qui désigne notre fils comme légataire universel et le deuxième papa comme tuteur légal (qui protège donc ses droits si le papa reconnu en France venait à disparaître...).

 

>Comment obtenir les papiers français pour votre enfant ?

Dès l’instant où l’un des deux parents est Français, leur enfant doit obtenir la nationalité française. Nous avons obtenu celle de notre fils sans même avoir reçu la transcription de son acte de naissance en France (l’acte de naissance canadien a suffit dans notre cas) et sans trop de difficulté, même s’il a fallu être persistant et suivre le dossier pour être sûr qu’il ne soit pas bloqué. Nous avons obtenu la carte d’identité et le passeport français de notre fils en un mois.

 

>Comment ça se passe pour la CAF la Sécu ?

Aucune difficulté ! Notre fils a été inscrit en quelques semaines auprès de ces deux organismes. De mémoire, il n’y a aucun justificatif à envoyer (à part l’acte de naissance canadien). Il faut juste s’assurer que la CAF ne considère pas qu’il s’agit pas d’une adoption (car ce n’en est pas une).

Recevez notre Newsletter

avec les dernières infos sur la GPA,

la législation, les bons plans et les conseils des professionnels du secteur

CONTACT

>N'hésitez pas à nous envoyer vos questions ou nous faire part de vos observations sur le site ! 

​​

>Contactez-nous via le formulaire ou directement par email: seb@monbebeaucanada.com

Tous droits réservés - 2020

This site was designed with the
.com
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now